How Much Did I Save Living At My In-Law’s?

I lived at my future in-law’s house for over 8 months. At first I was a little hesitant to make it a long-term commitment, but when I ran down the list of amazing amenities they had, it was hard not to agree. In addition to free rent, I didn’t have to cook my own meals, there was a washer and dryer in the house, and my daily commute was cut down by over 60%. And of course, I didn’t mind my fellow house members.

After 8 months, I decided it was time to move out. I am getting married in June and I thought it was time. I was settled, my job was stable, and I wanted to prepare and have everything set up before the wedding day.

So was it worth it? Heck yes. There were very few downsides, but how much did I really save? I’m not going to go into every detail of how much I saved on groceries and laundry costs, instead I’ll stick to the big items (surprised?) and do a lot of estimating.


This is obviously the big one. Two months ago, I moved into a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bathroom apartment for $1,800. It’s far from cheap, but by not paying that each of the last 8 months, you could argue that I saved $14,400 on rent!

However, I probably would have moved into a 1 bedroom apartment (since it would have been just me for nearly a year, part of the reason I got a 2 bedroom now is because we’ll want more space once we get married).

Let’s say I would have moved into a slightly more reasonable 1 bedroom apartment for those 8 months, costing me $1,300/month. That’s $10,400.

Still, I would have been committed to a 12 month lease, so over the course of the first year (July 2011-July 2012) I would have paid $15,600, while under my current arrangement, I will end up paying just $7,200 in rent over the same 12 month time frame.

The final number? About $8,400. Thanks Mark and Rachelle!


This one is pretty easy to calculate, our costs for tv, electricity, and gas is about $130, so that’s another $1,040 in savings during those 8 months.

Groceries, Gas, Laundry, etc.

My commute was much shorter, I was buying fewer groceries, and with a laundry machine in the house, I never needed quarters. I’ll guess this came out to $150/month, for an additional $1,200.

There are other costs I saved on, but there were a few other higher costs (I was going out to dinner more often because I had fewer expenses, but I was driving farther on weekends), so I’m assuming they just about cancelled each other out.

In all, it comes out to over $10,500. I have $10,500 more in my bank account that wouldn’t have otherwise been there. That’s awesome! Let’s just pretend I invest that right now and don’t touch it until I’m 65 years old. As a 7% interest rate, that’s about $170,000 that I wouldn’t have otherwise have had. Score!

Readers, did any of you think I was crazy for living with my future in-laws? Now that you read the numbers, do you think it was worth it?

How Much Did I Save Living At My In-Law’s?

Sweating the Big Stuff

Get Income and Money Saving Tips To Your Inbox

Get Income and Money Saving Tips To Your Inbox

Want more tips on how to make more money each month? Sign up to receive the great tips and tricks to boost your income and save more!

You have Successfully Subscribed!